1+4 = Life – 18th October

Joining in with the ever-wonderful Isabel who has taken over from Pip to host the ‘1+4=Life’ link-up. The idea is to post four photos to describe one week (this week’s link-up is here). Here goes….

  1+4-Rain

The rain arrived – after five months of no rain whatsoever – and it’s very welcome. Not only is it so much easier to sleep at night but….

1+4-Green

The trees have responded beautifully! Instead of scorched grass and parched leaves hanging limply on the trees, they’ve all bounced back wonderfully. It’s a joy to walk in such greenness!

1+4-Eyes

Had to chuckle on my morning run the other day as I came face to face with this! I think it must be a Halloween decoration! (Love his little tongue peeking out too (a brown leaf)!)

1+4-Bee

And, last but not least, it’s definitely – usually – the simple things that can bring great joy…we spent an age watching this little bee doing his thing, moving from flower to flower collecting pollen on his back legs. It was absolutely captivating.

It was also the week when I was:

Reading Maya’s Notebook from Isabelle Allende. I know a lot of people don’t like her work but I’ve always loved how she brings characters to life and how she manages to fill her stories with detail. It’s definitely a ‘rose-tinted glasses’ sort of approach to the story she tells but sometimes that’s all you can handle…

Captivated by Sacramento’s Mis Papelicos blog….love her style and sass!!

Pondering the message from this video…

Excited by this project that my friend Julie mentioned on her blog….the Lucky Dip Book Club…all details here…I’ve been making a scrapbook LO and can’t wait to see everyone’s responses!

– Enjoying rest and relaxation (my body seems to have taken over full control of my will power this week!)…I’ve watched several quietly powerful/moving films that have done me a world of good, including Jackie & Ryan (so gentle, such bare acting, I absolutely loved it and it’s stayed with me all week)

It was a quiet week of contemplation and planning.

I’m dedicating a lot more time to my writing and so think that I Will Bloom may suffer as a consequence. I kind of feel like I’m going round in circles on I Will Bloom, saying the ‘same old same old’ and that I don’t have much I can offer by way of ‘fresh’ posts at the moment. It somehow just feels tired and I need to not think about that for a while (if that makes sense)…

I’m going to commit to posting my FMF posts on Thursdays and to 1+4 on Sundays (and I will probably resurrect my Kindness Counts Fridays posts on Fridays) but I’m feeling the need to write (my book) and so I want to concentrate on that for the moment.

It feels like I just get this done (the book) and I’m putting all my energies in to that.

I will be taking part in NaNoWriMo again this year; I’m aiming to pull apart the writing I did this time last year and add to it with the new energy I’m putting in to my writing at the moment, with a view to having a workable draft before Christmas.

I just need to do this.

So I’m pulling out all the stops so that I can just do it.

I’ll head over to everyone’s blogs as usual (bear with me) so will keep in touch with you all (via your blogs or IG and will, as usual, reply to comments here…).

Wish me luck.

It’s proving to be an interesting journey.

Helen xxx

P.S. I want to take a selfie on top of a really high building! Imagine the thrill!

20 thoughts on “1+4 = Life – 18th October

  1. Carrie Ann says:

    Wow…the Dove video is so powerful…so beautiful!! 🙂 Jackie & Ryan does look good. I always enjoy these posts of yours. So glad you are working on your book!!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia! Yes, the video is powerful isn’t it? Left me thinking for a long while afterwards! I think you’d like that film (it’s so gentle and so well acted!)….yes: it *is* good news that I’m writing….it feels ‘right’….have a great week! Helen xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m finally catching up visiting everyone my dear Helen. Why can’t there just be a few more hours in the day, huh? Lol I love the photos & video – and I love that I still get to have you on IG. 😉

    I think it’s wonderful how you’re throwing yourself into your book & I can understand that is an important focus right now. I’m so excited for you on that journey! So you go Girl and keep up the great work.

    Many blessings to you dear Friend. Xoxo

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Carrie, I know what you mean: between half term and work (and the fact that my neck is acting up), I haven’t had a spare minute for what seems like the whole of this month…We should campaign for more hours in each day, LOL!! (Although I’d like those extra hours to sleep a bit more, please!)….yes, I decided that the only way it’s ever going to get out of my head is by being disciplined and throwing myself in to it…thanks so, so much for popping over (yes: it *is* so great to have IG isn’t it??!!)….blessings right back at you….have a great week, Helen xx

      Like

  3. Carolyn says:

    I love those googly eyes. What a character! I’ve never read anything by Isabel Allende but I feel I should. Her books are always popping before my eyes when I wander into a bookshop. I think it’s fair enough to have a blog breather. sometimes we need to step away to refresh and recharge.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Carolyn, aren’t the eyes brilliant?! You should give Isabel Allende a try: very rich descriptions and excellent character development. Yes: a blog break was definitely needed! Have a GREAT week! Helen xxx P.S. Have the ingredients ready for the cookies!!!

      Like

      • Carolyn says:

        Will definitely put her on my reading list! Just eaten our last cookie!

        Like

      • iwillbloom says:

        I don’t think you’ll be disappointed if you choose one of hers….and, my, your cookies lasted longer than the ‘wire cooling tray’ moment??!! Ours didn’t!! And I made them again the next day (yesterday) but forgot to put the cocoa in the mix, so ended up (half) covering them (on one side) with a mix of chocolate and Nutella….oh my….Heavenly…!!

        Like

      • Carolyn says:

        Sounds excellent!

        Like

  4. Sian says:

    I do wish you luck. You can do this. Imagine how you’ll feel when it’s finished.

    The googly eyes are brilliant. We went looking for Halloween decorations at the weekend and everything we found was actually TOO scary. We get a lot of very little Trick or Treaters (the best kind!) and everything we saw was way too gruesome> This is more my level!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Sian: thanks! I am rather excited by how it’s shaping up….! Aren’t the googly eyes *brilliant*! I know what you mean about the decorations being *too* scary: some of them are absolutely awful, aren’t they? We ended up making spiders from black balloons and black paper chain legs and some scary ghosts (green balloons with white tulle over the top)…I also brought out the old faithful ‘concertina-d cardboard cat/owl/pumpkins a la Pinterest a few years ago’….! Have you seen the Halloween costumes where you are again this year? Helen xxx

      Like

  5. juliekirk says:

    I’m a sucker for a googly eye any day of the week – and it looks like the rain woke your trees up in more ways than one!

    Thanks for linking up to the book club post. I was working on some [very loosely] Green Eggs and Ham inspired collage yesterday … I’d still like to get a few more ideas stuck down before I go to the next meeting.

    And I’ve never heard of Jackie & Ryan but it looks like something I could spend an afternoon with.

    Have a great week ahead [loving the idea that you’re launching into the book, good for you!]. x

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia! Oh yes, googly eyes: always good! Pleasure to link up to the book club post…can’t wait to see your response…mine is shaping up (rather too voluminously, perhaps!)…the Jackie & Ryan film is really really gentle and sweet…so lovely. I definitely think you’d like it. You too: here’s to a *great* week….(the writing is coming along nicely: what a process to get to this stage, though!!!)….H xxx

      Like

  6. Barbara says:

    I love that you are concentrating on your BOOK!! One day, I can say…”I knew her ‘when’ ” … and will own a piece of your heart in the book you are writing!

    I’m not really “writing” a regular blog post either; other than the write31days FMF free writes; but am trying to keep up with Tuesdays @ Ten and the Simple Woman’s Daybook. I enjoyed the Kindness Counts Friday, too; but kept forgetting to write things down so I’d remember them for that day!!

    Appreciate your stopping when you can to read others’ (my!) blog; and will do that with what you are posting…I am so far behind in reading others’ blogs that I may never catch up…but will do my best!!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Barbara! You’ll be the first to get a signed copy (LOL!!)…the 31 days in October challenge last year had me in a similar state: I remember spending a lot of time worrying about not commenting on other people’s blogs…(one of the reasons I just couldn’t commit this year)….I’m loving your posts, though….! Helen xx

      Like

  7. Ifeoma Samuel says:

    Funny eyes!
    I am hoping your book writing, publishing, launching of your book.
    Hope to hear about it.
    Keep well friend.
    God Bless

    Like

  8. blondeusk says:

    Lovely photos and amazing video 🙂

    Like

  9. alexa says:

    Lovely to read that you are writing, writing, writing! And that your body has taken over, and you’ve listened :). I loved the Dove video (so cleverly done) and your tree/rain photos – they remind me of my wonderful time with my amazing daughter in Costa Rica last November. When I read ‘a quiet week of contemplation …’, I felt a such a yearning …

    Like

  10. Isabel says:

    Hello dear Helen. I think it’s completely fair enough to take a blog break, I agree that blogging can sometimes take attention and time away from other writing/creative projects that require some TLC. I for one will not be offended if you don’t join in with One + Four or comment on my blog…just do what you need to do you, marvellous woman! Time is precious! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

