FMF: Dance

Joining in with Five Minute Friday. This week’s word Dance.

Here goes…

CaryGrant

START

Dance. It conjures up joy. Happiness. Celebration. All things good. Cary Grant smiling his head off as he does his thing. The inimitable James Brown. Mick Jagger. Joaquin Cortes. Martha Graham. Rudolf Nureyev. Michael Jackson.

Passion. Authenticity. Commitment.

Dance also conjures up tenderness. To dance, you have to be tender to yourself, after all: forgiving (or over-riding) your insecurities and dark thoughts of the ‘What will people think?’ variety…

(I say stuff it and just do it!).

Release. Freedom. Joy.

Dance also conjures up Strictly Ballroom and the line, heard as a teenager, and since imprinted on my brain: “A life lived in fear is no life at all”.

Passion. Belief. Tenacity.

We move through life – one big dance (as someone once said) – and if we’re clever, we learn, eventually, to dance – cha cha, tap tap, salsa, rumba – our way through it.

To enjoy the dance each step of the way, whatever rhythm we choose.

We learn to hear our own rhythm, above all else, and we dare to dance to it. We forgive ourselves: in the dance, we forget, we move on, we move forward, creating our own melody.

And, in this way, we shimmy along, creating – hopefully – a dance we’re proud of. One that actively makes us proud, makes us smile those inward smiles when we just somehow know that all is well.

If we’re lucky, we’ll have the courage to aim for this and we’ll achieve it – perhaps not consistently at first, but the glimpses of it will sustain our efforts.

The music, the dance within, will take on its own life…

If we’re wise, we won’t let the demons drown our music.

We’ll dance, wild and free.

Tenacious.

Enjoying the ride.

END

[Haven’t been around much recently, ladies (either here or commenting, unfortunately), as I’ve a) been writing (yay!) and b) appear to have had all my prayers answered at once and have landed several big work contracts which means my business is up and running buoyantly again (thank the Heavens!)…it’s taken me the majority of the last month to organise contracts etc. and tomorrow night – Friday – I’ll be the proudest small business owner in the land (as tomorrow is signature day! Eek!! Wish me luck!!)]

39 thoughts on “FMF: Dance

  1. Loving the references and the analogy of the dance of life. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Well, Helen…Buen suerte!

    You wrote this well, except for one thing that doesn’t quite resonate with me…

    Mercenaries never, EVER shimmy. We do dance, but shimmying is simply not on,

    Good to see you again, my friend.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Gracias, amigo 😉 Good to ‘see’ you too…(sad to hear you don’t shimmy….it’s a glorious feeling!!!)…(so sorry to hear things are so bad for you and am sending you lots of strength, prayers and positive energy for the time ahead)…Helen

      Like

  3. Beautiful words! And congrats on the new business!!! Your days just got longer . . . or should I say your nights just got shorter. May God richly bless your endeavor.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Thanks! Thanks so much! It’s actually an existing business that took quite a hit after a few personal problems over the last few years, so I’m very glad to see it back on its feet again. Thank you…! Helen

      Like

  4. Carolyn says:

    Excellent t see you back but your absence has been for excellent reasons too. Glad things are going swimmingly!

    Like

  5. juliekirk says:

    Here’s to dancing towards signature day! Happy to hear things are thriving!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      We did dance quite a lot on Friday night! And then I literally slumped over the weekend: weeks of pent-up stress took their toll…but I bounced back bright eyed and bushy tailed again…! H xxx

      Like

  6. Debby says:

    Hi Helen. So nice to read your words of freedom. I’m one of those fearful to dance in public. One of those things from my childhood (actually wrote about that on my fmf today). But yours is the better way, the way to live in freedom. Your words made me smile.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Thanks Debby…that’s definitely what they felt like: words of freedom! Will have time to head over to yours over the weekend so will look forward to reading your FMF (and other) posts…Helen xxx P.S. Glad I made you smile!

      Like

  7. Gabriele says:

    I do so wish you the best of luck at the signing today. Shimmy right on through it, girl.

    Like

  8. Congratulations on your contracts and great post. I love it. I’m not a dancer – not in my genes so pondering how I am going to write this week.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi….thanks for taking the time to hop over and leave a comment. Much appreciated. (There are some FMF prompts where I just think ‘What?!’….’bacon’ was – as a vegetarian – quite taxing, so I passed on that one!! Helen

      Like

  9. Congratulations on the contracts! Now, remember to find time to shimmy when you’re busy writing posts.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Miranda, hah! Yes, I have wondered how I’m going to fit it all in, but I’m definitely a ‘jump first and then accommodate’ type of girl (everything usually always works out, I’ve found…). Off to visit you…..Helen

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Tara says:

    Good luck to you at your signing today. Have a great weekend!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Thanks Tara! Have been visiting you but can’t leave comments on blogs at the moment for some reason….either from my phone or my laptop…..Very Annoying!

      Like

  11. Helen, what a fun post! There’s something freeing about dancing–moving to the beat of the music, either with a plan (i.e. the waltz, rumba, etc) or just to move. It truly does buoy the spirit. And I LOVE your closing sentiments. I definitely want to dance wild and free to the music God plays in my life.

    And yay for all the business coming your way! Praying for you today.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Jeanne, thanks for your kind words (as always). I definitely agree: movement does buoy the spirt, much like action buoys the soul. Thanks for your prayers: as you know, they’re always welcome. Helen xxx

      Like

  12. carlybenson says:

    This is a great post- so full of joy and freedom- and I love the idea of enjoying the dance and creating a dance that we’re proud of. Been missing you but I’m glad things are going so well, and I hope everything goes well with the signing today. xxx

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Carly, have also been missing you: I’m hoping ‘things’ will settle down a bit now all the ‘hard stuff’ has been sorted…will head over to yours at the weekend to read your posts….(I fear I have missed *many*….). Everything went well and I’m now happier (less insomnia-fuelled at least!) because it means that finally my income has stabilised again after all the ‘mess’ of the last few years…..that’s a huge weight off my (Single Mum) shoulders….thanks so much for your lovely, kind comment. As always, you taking the time to stop by and comment is much appreciated! Helen xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • carlybenson says:

        That’s great, Helen, I’m glad it all went well. It must be a huge relief. Hope things do settle down for you now and that you get some time to rest too. xxx

        Like

  13. Carrie Ann says:

    This…”If we’re wise, we won’t let the demons drown our music.” As a lover of dance, and one shimmying through life, I loved this whole post…and as always felt every word!! So glad to hear your business is growing…wishing you the best on Signature Day…and when all is signed and sealed you’ll be able to dance to the beat of your dreams!! 🙂 xx

    Like

  14. That’s so awesome about your business Helen!! Thata Girl! So excited and happy for you as the next chapters keep falling into place. Wishing you many continued blessings in the work and writing realms!

    I loved your use of the prompt and relating it to life in all it’s beautifully rhythmic forms. So eloquently done dear Lady! 🙂

    Dance on…and have a wonderful weekend! xoxo

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Carrie….thank you *so* much! Thank you. Hoping you had a lovely weekend, too….I flaked after Friday’s mammoth signing day…and we literally just relaxed all weekend long. Sooooooo good!!!!

      Like

  15. great post helen:) great news:) i was wondering how you were doing. happy to hear things are going much better for you. blessings!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Martha, how are YOU? I was missing having the chance to head over to your blog and will be doing so over the weekend. Thank you for your kind words and for your blessings. Helen

      Like

  16. Sian says:

    Hirray! Such wonderful news. Funny, although I love to dance, I’m not a fan of the phrase “doing the happy dance”. However, for you, I’m pleased to make an exception 🙂 I’m doin’ it

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Sian, your happy dance was much appreciated. Thank you very much xxxx (I also don’t like the phrase ‘happy dance’…it’s just kind of ‘icky’ isn’t it?!)…..hoping you’re much better….Helen xxx

      Like

  17. alexa says:

    As you’ll know, I love dance! So this is a delight to read and I can feel my molecules shifting and dancing as I type :). So delighted to read about such good things on the work front and hoping the signing all goes to plan.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Alexa…thanks so much! I’m glad I made you shift and dance as you typed!! Yes, I can finally feel the pieces falling back in to place, **thankfully**….Helen xxx

      Like

  18. Barbara says:

    So awesome, my friend, about the business!!! YAY…cheering for you!!! I’ve missed seeing you around, but am so happy for you! Love this “Dance” post…I have been busy last week getting ready for a scrapbook retreat; this week, catching up with laundry, sleep, putting things away (hahaha!), and getting ready for a women’s retreat this weekend…didn’t do the “Dance” FMF post; but do plan to get back to it. I didn’t even do the Simple Woman’s Daybook this week; but will get back to writing next week (and reading).

    Like

  19. Beyond late in catching up here- but SOOOOOO glad to hear things are going well and that you’e finding lots of work opportunities. You are so lovely! xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

