FMF: Weary

Joining in with Five Minute Friday again. This week’s word: weary.

Here goes…

WeepingAngel

START

Weary:

“…having one’s patience, tolerance or pleasure exhausted”

“…feeling or showing tiredness”

“…physically or mentally exhausted by hard work, exhaustion, strain”

From the definitions, there doesn’t seem to be much that’s very positive about weary, and having lived through weary-making times myself, I can vouch for that fact. There is indeed very little that’s positive about weary. 

But the little positive there is is enough. Enough to teach someone who’s been to Hell and back, several times, that weary is a worthy ride, perhaps an even more worthy destination.

When you’ve ridden the Weary Train and arrived at Chronic Weary, you’ll see life at it’s worst. You’ll experience people at their worst. The entire human race will seem ugly, brutal. You’ll feel beyond hope, the shocking nature of it all will leave you reeling, looking for a North (any point, really, to cling on to).

You’ll drag your weary body around, your weary mind not even hoping to make much of anything and then you’ll catch a drift of something. A sign, a ray, a chirp, spark. (What is that? God? Life force? The energy that Buddhists tap in to?)…

Whatever it is, it’ll grab you and shake your weary ass until you awaken just enough to be able to see again. It’ll help you pop on your rosy glasses and you’ll slowly find small things that’ll pull you out of your weary state.

A flower. Raindrops. A smile. A small kindness.

You’ll use them, feed on them, your weary body growing strong, again, from them as your weary mind tries to process it all.

And slowly – very very slowly – you’ll see the value in weary, feel ashamed you even doubted, find nourishment in the strength of the human spirit that lives inside you…and you’ll start to believe there is a way out, that there is light at the end of the tunnel…

That life is worth it, that someone has your back, that there is beauty to be found everywhere, even in the darkest most desolate times.

Your journey hand in hand with weary – to weary and back – will tell you all you need to know about life and purpose and what it means to be good.

In the end, you’ll be thankful for the path you had to follow, and for the timing of it, because it taught you things you needed to know (reminded you that you have to be humble to be able to learn and that life is a learning game, if nothing else).

I’m tired most of the time. Strained (I guess the word would be). Unsure. Confused. Lost. Isolated. Alone.

But, you know, weary has taught me that those aren’t bad states to be in, or bad emotions to have: they’re simply temporary states that I have to move through. If I’m wise, I’ll learn from them and move on, stronger, more fully equipped.

Weary: a sage old companion ready to teach us more than a lesson or two about humility, patience and the value of reflection…

I’d rather not have come to know you, weary, would rather not have travelled with you, but I’m glad I did.

You taught me more than my joy-filled times ever did and for that, I’m thankful.

END

[Thanks so much for all your good wishes…everything’s been signed and I’m able to sleep that much easier at nights now. Phew!…..I’ll be back to ‘normal service’ here on I Will Bloom shortly and will also be back commenting on everyone’s blogs shortly too! (I’m not able to comment on Blogger blogs at the moment, for some reason…will try to sort the problem at the weekend…..)]

[Thought it quite an uncanny coincidence that I stumbled upon Lee Jeffries feed on IG earlier tonight….and wanted to share the link to his work…he dignifies weary in a quite miraculous way]

34 thoughts on “FMF: Weary

  1. “You taught me more than my joy-filled times ever did and for that, I’m thankful.” <– This. So much Amen! (Although I wish it weren't true!) 😉

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Karrilee, thanks for taking the time to pop over and leave a comment. Much appreciated. Yes: I also wish it weren’t true but strength comes from survival.

      Like

  2. Tara says:

    Amen! Thank you for this reminder. I’m parked in the #6 spot this week. And so glad the signing went well. Congrats!

    Like

  3. Beautiful meditation, Helen. Splendid, heartfelt, and skilled.

    Like

  4. alexa says:

    So much truth here, beautifully expressed. And so helpful to be reminded that, like all feelings, it will move through and transmute … Delighted to hear there is more solid ground under your feet :). And off to follow your links. Thank-you for today.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Thanks Alexa: meditation has definitely taught me that much – that feelings/thoughts/states are just temporary and that we can rise above them. Hoping things are slightly better for/with your Dad…Helen xx

      Like

  5. Ifeoma Samuel says:

    Lovely Helen!
    But there is joy that lies ahead.
    God Bless friend

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Ifeoma, so good to ‘see’ you! Thanks! And, indeed, there is joy lying ahead…..(I guess that’s what faith is…..trust that things will be OK, however had things seem…). God bless you too: hoping you have a lovely relaxed weekend. Helen xx

      Like

  6. Gabriele says:

    Yes, you made a good argument that there is value in weary. I love hearing from you.

    Like

  7. Susan says:

    Jen, I can tell from your words that you have been to hell and back – and profited from it. You are an overcomer, I can tell. Wow, this article is refreshing!

    Love this: “And slowly – very very slowly – you’ll see the value in weary, feel ashamed you even doubted, find nourishment in the strength of the human spirit that lives inside you…and you’ll start to believe there is a way out, that there is light at the end of the tunnel…” YES! Amen!

    I was reading in Lamentations 3 this morning, just before coming here, where Jeremiah says, “We’ve been to hell and back…” Oh yes, it can be a good place to be, to know Love in those depths. Good article – thanks!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Susan, thanks for visiting and for taking the time to leave a comment. I like that term ‘overcomer’….am definitely going to add that to my ‘moving forward positively’ vocabulary! Thank you! And, yes, it *is* a good place to have been and to experience the love in those depths…..glad we’re on the same wavelength…..off to visit you….Helen xxx

      Like

  8. Debby says:

    I agree, weary is what we move through…don’t stop moving forward. Thanks for the positive side of something that seems only sad.

    Like

  9. Joy Lenton says:

    I’m so thankful that weariness (extreme at least) is not a permanent state of being and can become a means of grace. In my dark and oh so weary days I find myself clinging all the harder to Christ. There is beauty and fullness of joy in His presence, enough to water and refresh our weary, drooping souls. Helen, I love how you’ve seen some positivity in the weary times. May they continue to make you more aware of the light coming through the cracks. Blessings and love and warm congratulations for the new contracts! Xx ❤

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Oh Joy, my mind wandered over to thoughts of you and your illness as soon as I saw the word…as you say, it can become a means of accessing grace which, thankfully, is a lifeline (I hadn’t truly understood the concept of ‘grace’ until I realised I’d stumbled slap-bang in to it). Love the idea of light coming through the cracks….and thanks for your congratulations…I was just at one Institute this morning and very much enjoyed myself and enjoyed seeing the difference I’m going to be able to make….Helen xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Helen, what an impacting post. I haven’t really considered Weary as a teacher so much as a state or condition. The fact that you learned in the Land of Weary and moved beyond it says so much. It can be a temporary state, or it can be a companion we travel with for a little while. You’ve got me thinking on this. Thank you for sharing a piece of your heart and your story.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Jeanne, thanks for heading across and leaving a comment and I’m glad it made you think. (I tried to leave a comment on your post but I don’t know if it was left; I’m not able to leave comments on blogger blogs for some reason and, although I seemed to be able to leave comments on WP/self-hosted blogs, I did have trouble leaving comments on even these blogs last night as I hopped around from FMF….all very annoying). Hoping you are able to rest and that it will have some effect on your overall health….our bodies speak volumes but we do tend to tune it’s voice out, unfortunately….thinking of you. Helen xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Love this Helen. So beautiful how you turn the dark and the difficult into a strength and a gift. Blessings on your weekend my dear Friend. xoox

    Like

  12. A lot of truth in this post! Always look for the glimmer of light!

    Like

  13. carlybenson says:

    I enjoyed your post, Helen. It’s true that weariness is not pleasant but there is a lot we can learn from those times, especially looking back as we begin to move out of them. And it is important to look for those little signs of hope that can keep us going.

    Like

  14. Carrie Ann says:

    🙂 This resonated deep down in my weary soul!! But I shall slip on my rosy glasses and turn up some music to grab me and shake my weary ass to awaken me for awhile to get through this temporary state…because I can see the sunshine and happiness on the other side!! xx

    Like

  15. Eva says:

    I’m sorry to hear that ‘weary’ is the word of choice and that it’s not something more positive, but I love how you always find the positivity in even the worst moments and I really hope that the weekend has been a bit of a renewal for you and that your week starts off in a positive place! I had written more before, but lost my password to sign in to comment and, in the process, my comment was lost. Either way… I hope you’re well, Helen! So glad to see that you’re still blogging!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Eva….yes, I was a little ‘weary’ when I saw the word ‘weary’ but did still manage to find something to write about…(the weekend was very subdued for me/us, as I’m sure it was for many, after the events in Paris….)…I’m so sorry you lost your comment – that is always very, very annoying, so much so that I now copy all comments before I press ‘submit’ on blogger blogs…..I’m not back to blogging properly but am trying to do the FMF each week….I miss my ladies too much (yourself included!) if I don’t blog at least once a week! Helen xxx

      Like

      • Eva says:

        Completely understandable. I didn’t know what to do with myself from the moment I heard about Paris and didn’t go through with any of my plans for some time after. I often copy my comments, but I always seem to lose them the moments I forget to copy them, hah! It’s okay 🙂 I’ve been trying to get into blogging, too, but ever since I stopped for a long time a few years ago, I’ve never been able to find consistency again. But I love blogging and all those in the blogging community so much… it’s good for my soul, so I always keep coming back 🙂 glad to hear it’s the same for you!

        Like

      • iwillbloom says:

        Yes, I think everyone has felt the shockwaves…..what an awful, awful thing. Yes, I do love blogging, too, so much! Love all of the lovely ladies who read and leave me such sweet, life-affirming, life-giving comments….xxx

        Like

Leave a Reply

