December Reflections: Hot Drink (an ode to tea)

The prompt for today’s December Reflections from Susannah Conway is Hot Drink. 

HotDrink

It was a very easy prompt for me today because, well, tea…..(!)

The world, and it’s madness, stops for me around 3 every afternoon as I put the kettle on and prepare my favourite mug to receive my afternoon cup of tea.

[It has to be my favourite mug otherwise it just doesn’t taste quite right somehow]

Preferably Earl Grey but when the Earl has done a runner (!), I make do with any black tea.

Steeped for two to three minutes so it’s strong but not stewed.

A generous swish of milk so it’s nice and milky.

I take it to my favourite spot on the settee and there I sit, biscuits and tea by my side, the world stopped, momentarily, as I just savour my cup of tea, sip by lovely sip.

[The littles know not to disturb me when it’s my tea time]

I feel myself getting calmer with every sip, the stresses of the day disappearing as I dunk my biscuits.

Time stills and slows as I feel the stresses release.

A cup of tea.

Not a momentous or particularly grand event, but one that deserves it’s own small celebration.

[I understand why the Japanese developed a whole ceremonial ritual around tea!]

What makes your world stop? What do you savour? 

Helen xxx

14 thoughts on “December Reflections: Hot Drink (an ode to tea)

  1. Barbara says:

    Yes, Tea Time…maybe I should take on the practice of stopping every day at 3 pm for tea time!!! Lately, every day has been resting/relaxing day except for a few…so good to be seeing you writing; as you know, I DO love to read your heart!!

    Like

  2. Carrie Ann says:

    🙂 For me it’s coffee, at about the same time. I usually drink hot tea when I’m not feeling well, I do love sweet cold tea, though, especially in the summer.

    This tea time sounds like something I’d like to try (don’t know how cooperative my kids would be, lol). Also putting milk in tea, that’s a British thing isn’t it? I think I will seriously try it. I’m picturing your biscuits to be some kind of shortbread or butter cookie? I love learning and trying new things!! Thanks for sharing!!

    Looking forward to more of your December Reflections. I so enjoyed Blogmas last year, hopefully I’ll get some holiday posts up myself. 🙂

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia!!! Oh, yes, do give tea a try……and, yes, with milk…..(my Grandad used to drink his with lemon and a bit of sugar….).

      And biscuits, yes, shortbread or chic chip cookies….or cake….or anything sweet, really!!

      You should definitely give it a go. It’s very relaxing…

      Soooooo late catching up on comments…..(eek)….hoping your 2016 is treating you well so far….Helen xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I NEED my coffee in the AM – but I do love tea. I never think to do a set time for it though. I should start that tradition. Perfect plan to de-stress & truly savor that time for yourself. 😉
    Blessings my Dear. XO

    Like

  4. Gabriele says:

    Just a little chocolate.

    Like

  5. Eva says:

    There’s just something about tea ❤ makes everything better 🙂

    Like

  6. alexa says:

    That’s a lovely photo (is that a Sindy doll in the background?). I am with you on the tea front, though I am liking chai mid-afternoon at the moment. One of my favourite mantras to myself, no matter how bad the day, is “There’s always tea …” :).

    Like

  7. Hello!!! I keep promising to stick around blogland and then disappear into oblivion again, but whenever I find my way back to your posts I leave with a smile. You are such a beautiful writer. 🙂

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Kimberley, I’ve been missing seeing you around! Hoping everything’s going better for you! Thanks so much for your beautiful words (I needed to hear them today; they made me feel more optimistic! Thank you!)…….best wishes, as always, Helen xx

      Like

  8. Hello Helen!!! It’s been far too long since I’ve stopped by but have so enjoyed following you on Instagram and seeing all your lovely pictures. I adore this post so much. It made me feel calm as you took me through your tea ritual! It’s inspired me to think about stopping to breathe when I drink my coffee rather than being in a mad rush off to work. oxoxo

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Heather……oh my goodness…..can’t believe it’s been so long since I even visited my own blog let alone checked the comments…..thanks for your comment…..much much appreciated (yes, I also love following you on IG! Such a great way to keep n touch!!)…Helen xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

