FMF: Share

Joining in with Five Minute Friday – after too long a break – with this week’s word Share…..

images

START

To share with others is one of the most life-giving things you can do: a shared meal, a shared laugh, a shared hug, a shared ‘Me too’….moments like these bond, provide glue not only for the friendship but for ourselves, for our ‘me’.

Nothing – nothing – beats an ‘I understand’ or ‘I hear you’ to make you feel whole again.

Empathy is, after all, the most life-affirming glue we humans have. [What a shame it is that so many of us have lost our capacity for empathy].

Let’s not forget the other side of ‘share’, however….the one that leaves you feeling vulnerable – because you suddenly feel you’ve shared too much (something you’ve created, a thought you’ve had…)……you know those moments, the ones where you’ve definitely ‘put yourself out there’ and you’re hanging, waiting for a reaction, waiting to see what people will make of it….[not that you define yourself by other’s opinions; does creativity even require an audience?]…

Those moments, those ‘ooooh my goodness, what have I done?’ moments, they’re definitely not glue-like; they’re the moments that make you come undone at your seams. They loosen your stuffing a bit and you feel all ruffled, not quite ‘you’.

And afterwards, you’re never quite ‘you’ again because you’ll have had to re-accommodate but – somehow – through sharing this glimpse of pure you, you’ll get stronger and more confident, that little bit more ready to share more, to offer more of you.

Eventually, after much toe-dipping in to this theatre of ‘testing your limits of comfort’, you’ll learn to shine your own light and, through this, others might be encouraged by your bravery [Encouragement: showing people how to find their own courage to shine?]….you’ll light the path for others….and your act(s) of bravery, who knows, it might start a chain reaction….

As Marie Forleo, one of my entrepreneurial heroes, says, “The world needs that special gift that only you have”…..and when you think of it like this….

….it’s actually kind of selfish not to share your talents just because you’re slightly afraid….

Perhaps the ‘afraid’ feelings – the goosebumps and the other signs we’re bumping against our vulnerability boundaries – are actually beacons to light our way to where we should be going?

[As Seuss says, there’s no-one that’s you-er than you; how strange, then, that we so often get to a position where we try to hide our light, to dampen our capacities for encouragement…]

Imagine a world where everyone felt free to share their talents, to share their passions, their joys, their sadnesses…..where solutions, help, encouragement were offered as the norm….imagine the sheer joy it would cause, to yourself and others, being you, totally you…..

[I like the idea of that kind of freedom]

END

[For some reason, I still can’t leave comments on blogger blogs….sorry! I am going to dedicate some time this weekend to try and find out what’s happening…]

29 thoughts on “FMF: Share

  1. Christy says:

    You’re working on a book??? Me too!!! How exciting. And scary…sharing our work with others…not knowing if it will be well received or if it will hit file 13…Oh MY goodness what HAVE we done! But we’re gonna do this Helen!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Christy….of course we’re going to do it! Of course. (If you need a writing/draft reading buddy, I’m here, girl….). [I just need to get it out of me…..I’m refusing to be stalled by the ‘what if no-one likes it’ demons…..]…..here’s to US! Helen xxxx

      Like

  2. You’re here. you’re here. YOU ARE BLOODY WELL HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Helen, I have MISSED YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    You are unique. You are loved with a passion and depth, and in numbers, far beyond your ken.

    Like

  3. Joy Lenton says:

    Welcome back, Helen! It’s lovely to see you blooming here again. Yes and Amen to this: “Perhaps the ‘afraid’ feelings – the goosebumps and the other signs we’re bumping against our vulnerability boundaries – are actually beacons to light our way to where we should be going?” I hope and pray that is true now my vulnerable words have found their way into an e-book – gulp!! Blog sharing is hard enough at times but I so appreciate how others usually respond well when we hang our dirty linen out to dry. Maybe it gives them permission to do the same or to feel less alone with their own situations. Blessings and love to you, dear friend! Xox ❤

    Like

  4. Carly says:

    I love the thought of a world where everyone felt free to be themselves and knew they’d be accepted. It’s true that if we can push the boundaries, even when it scares us, it allows others to feel less alone and frees them to share too. Great post! xxx

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Wouldn’t it be wonderful, Carly….but unattainable, I fear (I see my children’s friends, and the family patterns of hurt that cause them, too, to hurt others, and I wonder when it all might stop…..?)…..loved your post, too…..(am soooo glad to be back!)…..Helen xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  5. juliekirk says:

    Someone told me that feeling is known as a ‘vulnerability hangover’. Genius.

    Like

  6. This is beautiful! I love it. I’ve been reflecting on vulnerability and sharing and connections a lot lately, and you’ve said it very well.

    Like

  7. Tara says:

    I love that you quoted Dr Suess. So very true…no one you-ear than you!

    Like

  8. This is SO excellent. Absolutely every bit of it! But this –> “Perhaps the ‘afraid’ feelings – the goosebumps and the other signs we’re bumping against our vulnerability boundaries – are actually beacons to light our way to where we should be going?” <– THIS, my friend, is perfect. This is exactly my feeling about what I share, especially those more touchy, difficult things. When I decided to share my story of depression with the Write 31 Days community two years ago, I felt like throwing up after I made the decision. All through the writing of that series, I felt so many goosebumps and other signs because it was such a vulnerable topic for me. In the end though, I received such wonderful affirmation from others that it was *exactly* where I was meant to be going. Eventually too, I realized that it had not only been a good thing for me to share with others, but that it had been good for me personally to face my fears and share it. I became more who I believe God truly means for me to become through the sharing of that part of me. Thank you for writing this and sharing your beautiful heart with all of us! Stopping by from #60 at FMF this week!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Valerie, thanks so much for such a thoughtful and heartfelt comment. I loved reading about your process and your development as a result of your bravery. Thank you so much for sharing. Helen xxx

      Like

  9. Lizzy says:

    Very profound, love these thoughts

    Like

  10. So nice to see an FMF post on here from you again dear Helen! Although I get great Helen “fixes” on insta. Lol! I’m so happy you’re working on sharing of yourself through writing, though, so keep up the good work! I love this post & love seeing the photos of Katharine Hepburn – goodness how I loved her! 😉

    There can be such a vulnerability in sharing but such a strength too. I completely agree in that there’s so much to be gained in that.

    Blessings on your weekend Hon. Xoxo

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Carrie! Soooooooo glad to be back and soooooo glad you popped over….(I *will* take some time this weekend to find out why I can’t leave comments on blogger blogs)…..hoping you’re having a lovely weekend, Helen xxxx

      Like

  11. Helen, I’m SO glad to see you back! I’ve missed you, and wondered how you’ve been.

    Such a great post, my friend. I love where you took this post. To share our talents. God’s given every single one of us gifts and talents . . . so that we can share them. I agree. Let’s not be selfish with them—either because of fear or anything else—let’s give them to others!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Jeanne, have missed you too! Really missed reading your posts….thanks so much for your comment…..I’m learning, bit by bit, that it’s so important not to be a) scared of showing our talents and b) selfish about sharing our talents….amazing how we’re moulded to become the person we can – should – be…..Helen xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  12. m1cey says:

    This os so good! And so true! I often find myself in the position of trying to be less me because I don’t think others can handle all of me. And I hate when my feelings get hurt because they can’t handle it. But I’m working on it because I want to be totally free! So happy you’re back Helen!

    Like

  13. mrsvittande says:

    The “shared me too’s” oh goodness, what comfort those words bring.

    A phenomenal read! By the looks of it, you’re a pretty popular lady. Glad I’ve been able to share in your company. God bless!

    Like

Leave a Reply

