FMF: Decide

Joining in with Five Minute friday. This week’s word: Decide

Vintage-Photos-Of-People-Being-Weird-With-Pets-2-255x300

START

Decide.

When it comes down to it, that’s all it takes, really: to decide you’re going to do something and then follow through. 

Your mind is your most powerful ally.

Train your mind – harness and direct your thoughts – and your decisions become your reality.

Decide then commit. 

It’s as simple and as complicated as that.

Don’t let your mind become your worst enemy.

Decide to free yourself to believe and decide, every day, to muster the discipline it takes to follow through.

You’ll thank yourself in the end.

No-one wants to get to the end regretting not having made the extra little bit of effort/not doing things because they feared being shown up/not having pushed past shyness/[insert whatever excuse you’re using to stop yourself]

Decide to use all of you, to flourish, to spend every bit of all your glorious talents.

Decide then commit.

Repeat. Repeat. Repeat.

Excellence lies in the strength of your belief and the steadfastness, and ongoing repetition, of your commitment.

END

Thanks to everyone who emailed me (or contacted me) about the Contentment series. Am flattered and honoured. My little boy’s been ill – and off school – this week, sending everything a bit pear-shaped, but I’ll be emailing details out over the weekend….thank you!!! [It’s going to be a good one, I know it]

Helen xx

P.S. The little boy riding the tortoise, encouraging it with what looks like a sausage, makes me laugh every time I see it!

34 thoughts on “FMF: Decide

  1. First, prayers for your little, Helen, and for you.

    Decide, then commit. Yes, my friend. It can be so hard, though!

    As things progress, and every step gets more painful, I want to do the things I still want to do, but taking that first step…the one that says, “this is going to hurt”…is tough. Some days, I admit, I quail.

    But it doesn’t matter that it hurts, because at the end of the day, being faithful to the decision is all.

    You’re in my thoughts, every day.

    xo

    32 at FMF this week.

    http://blessed-are-the-pure-of-heart.blogspot.com/2016/03/your-dying-spouse-137-decide-to-be.html

    Like

  2. Jenninablog says:

    “Decide to use all of you, to flourish” I love this – Sometimes we decide…we move forward, reluctantly, and then have regrets because we set ourselves up to fail. “Decide to flourish”….wonderfully put

    Thank you for sharing your time and talents even in the midst of a tough week.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi, thanks for popping over and for taking the time to leave a comment. I definitely think there’s something in the idea of making a conscious decision to flourish and keeping that decision at the forefront of our minds, as encouragement *not* to fail…Helen xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. MaryHill says:

    Decide and commit will resonate with me today. Thanks for the message.

    Like

  4. Christy says:

    “Don’t let your mind become your worst enemy.” This for sure! often times after the decision comes the regrets, or “buyers remorse” Sometimes we just need to take the next step and not think too far ahead. Great thoughts Helen!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Christy….yes, sometimes we just need to take the next step and not think too far ahead – like saying ‘yes’ to a trip that *will* nourish you in so many ways…..just saying’ 😉 – blessings…and I’m sending a dose of ‘I’m going to go for it’ bravery right your way…Helen xxx

      Like

  5. Tara says:

    If you are still looking for guest posters, I am always open to that. This is a great post. I’m over in the #7 spot this week.

    Like

  6. Carly says:

    Great post! It’s true that our minds can be our enemies. So important to harness our thoughts and take control, though not always easy to do!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Carly, oh my goodness, certainly, not always easy…in fact *very rarely* easy…but the end results is always, inevitably, well worth battling the ‘nay-saying demons’…Helen xx

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Helen, YES! I almost wrote a post with this idea. Decide and then do it. I have a boy who, once he makes up his mind to do something, it’s gonna get done.

    Oh that I was that diligent on everything I decided initially to do. 🙂

    When we decide and commit, that’s a good thing. This spoke to me: “Excellence lies in the strength of your belief and the steadfastness, and ongoing repetition, of your commitment.”

    Thanks for sharing your words today. I hope your young guy feels better soon!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Jeanne, hope you’re feeling better with your knee…..we’re OK (I was very ill with a horrible virus last week, hence the late reply to your comment!). Yes: if only we were diligent with all the things we initially decided to do! Thanks so much for your comment….have a GREAT week! Helen xx

      Like

  8. aprogressor says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog this morning and I am so glad I got to visit yours. What you wrote was exactly what I am feeling. I think you have encouraged me too. I am going to share this on my facebook page. Thanks again

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Kristina, thanks for popping over and taking the time to leave such a lovely comment. I’m glad my words resonated with you and that you found encouragement in them. Helen (P.S. Sorry it took me so long to reply! I was ill with a horrible virus last week….).

      Like

  9. Carrie Ann says:

    😀 Love that picture. I saw it and I was like what the heck? LOL. Some decisions are hard to make, but once you’ve made a couple hard ones the deciding seems to come easier, then it’s the commit part that is difficult. Such is life, but it’s ours to decide to live to the fullest. 🙂

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia! Yes! The picture is cool isn’t it?! Deciding does get easier, doesn’t it? And, yes, then it’s the commitment that’s difficult but – as we both know – you don’t get out of something you’re stuck in until you take sufficient positive actions….have a GREAT week!!! Helen xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Gabriele says:

    You left us with a great answer. I can’t decide when to start……Ha!Ha!

    Like

  11. Love this Helen! It shows how much stronger you have become in your thinking – and I’m sure that has allowed for things to be easier for you to make hard decisions. To truly commit when you’ve needed too. Keep on going and getting it Girlie!! 😉

    Love that photo too – so perfect!! Lol
    Blessings. xoxo

    Like

  12. Joy Lenton says:

    Great post, Helen. These words hit home: “Train your mind – harness and direct your thoughts” because I truly need to focus more on God-inspired positive thoughts rather than the automatic negative ones that have been plaguing me of late.
    Speaking of being late.. I seem to have missed a blog post (or more) of yours since taking my blogging break. Please could you fill me in on the ‘Contentment’ thing? Thanks! Hope your little guy feels much better soon. PS: I love the photo above. The boy’s face is priceless. That’s me, by the way – a slow moving, prevaricating tortoise needing incentive to move and come out of her shy shell! Blessings to you and yours. Xx

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Joy…was ill last week with a horrid virus so have only just seen your comment…the focus on pure/inspiring/motivational thoughts is so important, isn’t it? Will email you about the Contentment series (my Intro post went up today). Hoping you’re feeling OK and more positive….here’s to a better week for us both….Helen xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  13. I do love the decide…then commit bit!! LOVELY post! So glad to see you here, and to be able to “read your heart” again! Just returned from a fab weekend – a LONG one – with my friends at a…of course, scrapbook retreat! This one was local but I stayed in the hotel with 3 of my friends from Daytona Beach, a couple of hours from here…will catch up on everything later! Just wanted to respond to your post!! ❤

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Barbara, my beautiful Barbara, was very ill last week (horrid virus which left me bed ridden for the whole week, eek…) so have only just seen your comment. So lovely to hear about your retreat! So pleased you had a nice time!! Helen xxx

      Like

  14. m1cey says:

    Hope your household is healthy again.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Michelle, just about! I was bed ridden the whole of last week (quite literally)…am up and about today but feeling decidedly ‘iffy’ still 😦 Hoping you’re OK!! Your post will go up on Wednesday…Helen xxx

      Like

  15. So much wisdom in your post. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

